Lack of Worker Protection in the United States

I’m new to this so bare with me while I figure it out. I am creating this blog because I want to encourage people to stand up for what they believe. I think we should all use our voice and tell our government what we need and want. What I want is protection for our workers. For the last 6 months my husband has been working too much overtime. It started in Jan. with 12 hour shifts was only suppose to last a month until they got a new piece of equipment in. Well here we are almost the end of June and that piece of equipment arrived many months ago and several others have since. My husband is still working way too many hours any where from 10-12 hours a day usually 6 days a week, some times 7. We keep hearing after this happens or after that happens then the overtime will slow down but it never does.

 

Father’s day weekend the company my husband works for said it would be shutting down for the weekend but they would have to work 12 hour shifts for the rest of the week (Tues-Fri). Then on Tuesday my husband was told he and the rest of the maintenance team would have to work Sat. when everyone else was off. I am understanding of this because sometimes maintenance has to work on equipment when it is not running, but I was upset that weekend because they were told they were off and we had told our kids and everyone was excited that daddy would be off work for two whole days. Then on Wednesday they company decided that they would be working 12 hour shifts for the rest of the month but only Mon-Fri. No weekend work. My husband called me few hours ago to tell me that he cut his finger pretty bad and that he is going to have to work Sat and Sun this week. That is in addition to working 12 hours this week and the rest of the month. So NO off day until at least next weekend. I’m upset first I did what I usually do cried. I miss my husband. I feel like a single mom. Then I got pissed. I had already been researching labor laws and found that the U.S really have none to speak of. So Today I found my voice and decided I am going to change this. I have emailed my representatives and will mail letters to the ones I can not. I am really hoping that others will do the same. For today I am going to leave you will a few points I read from an article at http://20somethingfinance.com/american-hours-worked-productivity-vacation/

 

 At least 134 countries have laws setting the maximum length of the work week; the U.S. does not.

 

There is not a federal law requiring paid sick days in the United States.

 

The U.S. remains the only industrialized country in the world that has no legally mandated annual leave.

 

In every country included except Canada and Japan (and the U.S., which averages 13 days/per year), workers get at least 20 paid vacation days. In France and Finland, they get 30 – an entire month off, paid, every year.

 

In future posts I will be exploring this matter farther. I plan to research other countries labor laws and see just how we stack up. In America we pride ourselves on everyone being treated equally and encourage other countries to treat their citizens and workers fairly. It is time we do the same!

4 thoughts on “Lack of Worker Protection in the United States

  1. I’m Canadian and I am always surprised when I hear stories about worker abuse and misuse coming out of the US. There has been a concerted effort to gut worker rights down there ever since the Reagan era. There has been a certain amount of bleed-over the border of these policies, thus my interest. Lots of luck in fighting for worker rights!

    • Thank you for your comment. There is actually a group that I am in contact with and hoping to work with that is a U.S./Canadian initiative for workers. I am going to ask for their permission to link to them from my blog before I list their name here. I would love to hear about some Canada’s labor laws. A lot of my research is going to be on other countries laws and how we compare, but research can only go so far, without actually experiencing how the laws are put into practice.

  2. Tex Arty says:

    I now Follow you blog “Lack of worker protection in the United States”.
    I am impressed with your research in this area and the excellent way you relate information in your blog exposing this inequity in the workplace.
    Keep up the good work and…
    Good luck
    Tex Arty

  3. drrik says:

    Worker protection in the US has, for most of the past 50 years, been a booming economy with plenty of options fror workers. Don’t like the way tthe company is doing something? Hop companies and pick up another one. Didn’t need a union. Even having a union didn’t help the salaried workers. Didn’t matter. Always plenty of options. Now, the government’s policies and short-sightedness have chased many of our options overseas. Cheaper to build elsewhere rather than fight the regulatory burden and the onereous tax rates. Options are limited.
    Question of which way we go now?
    Do we gut the near fascist (government control of everything and private ownership) central authority and push power and responsibiility back the the states and closer to the people that are affected actually making the decisions? Or do we go wih the flow and take status quo as the new paradigm and try to “fix” everything with even MORE central authority regualtion and even less free market and freedom?
    The first option is a fight to try to get back to the representative republic and state’s rights and the constitutional basis for our country. And not a bad idea because all of the economic woes we are currently suffering are actually BECAUSE of our current government’s policies. It is only rigorous application of them that is keeping our country from absolute boom times economically. And the freedom and choices that come with that.
    Or to we go with a patch and a central authority fix? Marshall a speical interest faction and try to make enough noise to attract political attention and have the government step in and regulate. Regardless of the efffectiveness or understanding and setting up a rule with no flexibility or consideration of the realities of a business.
    The latter will likely be able to be done in a human scale time frame, soon enough for you to benefit. The long term ramifications will be ones that you may not like.

Leave a Reply

